Maricopa County GOP Chairman Rob Haney kicks off re-election campaign

Dear Political Activists:

I have attached a letter and BIO in reference to my reelection as Maricopa County Republican Committee Chairman on January 8.

As I see it, the most significant difference between my opponent and me is that I believe, as precinct committeemen and officers in the Republican Party, that we not only have the freedom to speak to policy issues but the responsibility and obligation to do so.  This is especially true when we believe the policy would do serious harm to the Party and Country. Witness what is going on in Congress right now.

Another significant difference between my opponent and me is my time in service to the Party and experience in Party leadership positions.  In his letter to PCs, my opponent urges us to stay away from taking positions on policy.  In essence, he repeats the hierarchical position that our job is only to recruit new members and candidates, stay in contact with and energize the base and inform the public.  I disagree.

Representatives have an obligation to their constituency.  Support from the base to the representative is not a one way street.  When our representative sponsors legislation which is favored by Democrats and opposed by the majority of Republicans, who is left to represent the grassroots and oppose the legislation?  The only people left are Republican activists who, in all probability, are PCs or grassroots leaders in officer capacities.

I believe the Republican Party should be a grassroots-up directed party, not a top-down directed Party.  The hierarchy and grassroots should function as a team to advance legislation in support of the Constitution and Platform.  When legislation is sponsored by our representatives in opposition to the Constitution and Platform and without addressing the concerns of the base, the team concept breaks down and disunity results.

Like most Constitutional conservatives, I am not accustomed to favorable media reviews.  However, it pleased me that the AZ Capitol Times in Dec. 2008, referred to me as the man seen as the leader of Arizona’s Grassroots Republican Movement.  In order to continue this effort, I ask for your vote on January 8.

Sincerely,

Rob Haney
Chairman
Maricopa County Republican Committee

Chairman Haney’s letter and impressive bio  — sent to Maricopa County Precinct Committeemen — can be read here. Take the time to check out his numerous accomplishments on behalf of the County Republican Party.

14 Responses to Maricopa County GOP Chairman Rob Haney kicks off re-election campaign

  1. LD 7 PC says:

    No one can touch this dedicated and energetic man when it comes to promoting the Republican Platform and conservative values. Rob Haney has my respect and support because he has EARNED it.

  2. State Committeeman says:

    I’m a longtime elected Precinct Committeeman and State Committeeman. I’ve seen Rob Haney’s devotion to the GOP principles and the unmatched job he does in recruiting new PCs and registering Republican voters. He’s spent years at these activities. It’s not pre election talk, it’s year round action. He can be assured of my vote and I will encourage my precinct PCs to support him also.

  3. GOP PC says:

    You’ve got my vote, Rob. You’ve registered more Republicans than anyone I know. And I’d like to add that I’ve rarely gone to a political meeting (District meetings, Pachyderm meetings or Tea Party gatherings) where you’re not in attendance. You show your devotion to the GOP, not just talk about it. I appreciate that level of dedication.

  4. East Valley PC says:

    I’m also onboard, proudly joining Sen. Russell Pearce and Sheriff Arpaio! Good luck and Merry Christmas, Mr. Chairman. See you at the January 8th meeting.

  5. Everyman says:

    On this same site, you guys wrote of Haney’s decisive victory during his previous run for chairman. I found it with a simple Google search. You should have included this in this post. it’s good stuff.

    http://seeingredaz.wordpress.com/2009/01/10/haney-by-a-knockout/

  6. Conservative District Chairman says:

    So grateful Vernon Parker and his liberal band of John McCainiacs worked to defeat Rob Haney for LD-11 Chairman in 2008! Rob’s courageous leap from that “loss” to election as County Chairman weeks later showed his commitment to grassroots conservative Republican Platform promoting Americans.

    Thanks for the promotion Chamber of Commerce and John McCain “moderates!” We will again elect the man who will not go along to get along but will use his bullhorn instead to speak for We The People.

  7. 1776 says:

    In addition to strengthening the Republican Party with all his efforts, Rob has been doing what all of us should be doing, holding our elected officials’ feet to the fire. If this were not the case he would be unopposed for re-election. A lot of Americans think “there’s not a dime’s worth of difference between the Parties.” That is less true than it has been and Rob Haney’s leadership is one of the strongest reasons.

  8. Janet V. says:

    Go Haney!!

    Every precinct committeeman has a vote in the county elections. If not attending your proxy can be carried by any registered Republican from your same precinct.

    It is the January 22nd state meeting in which only elected state committeeman can vote.

    In 2008 we lost one conservative County Board Member to the election of a moderate by only one vote – 721 to 720. Every January 8 vote is critical. Proxy forms will arrive in your mailbox at least 10 days prior to elections.

  9. LD 6 PC says:

    A political party cannot be all things to all people. It must represent certain fundamental beliefs, which must not be compromised to political expediency or simply to swell its numbers…. And if there are those who cannot subscribe to these conservative principles, then let them go their own way…Pres. Ronald Reagan

    Pretty well describes Chairman Haney too.

  10. PV Voter says:

    I only know of Rob Haney from things I’ve read and heard about him, but I’m impressed with his strong commitment to conservative principles and his diligent efforts on behalf of the Republican Party. He deserves to be reelected. The Arizona Republican Party has made great strides across the board during the last election. This is not the time to back down or put lukewarm folks in place within the Party.

  11. ucowardshidebehindaliasesonblogs says:

    According to Haney’s above bio, it states he is a “Goldwater Institute member.” I’ve attended various events of theirs for more than 10 years and I have never seen him at one of these events so I am assuming he is not a donor, just someone who has joined their email list to get daily updates like any other person.

    I’m going to wait to see what Cheatham has to offer because I have seen the Haneys at a few meetings these past few years and they’ve left me unimpressed with a dwindled hope of repairing our fractured party.

    • Matt DeGennaro says:

      And who are you? A coward? Where is your name, O Brave One?

      Many people I know use aliases when posting comments on blogs (here or elsewhere) because of the sensitive nature of their business or for other personal reasons, which actually are none of your business. They have something to say and that should be the end of it. Should your comment be disregarded because you omit your name? You show yourself as a hypocritical fool.

    • Rob Haney says:

      Sorry you missed me at the Ward Connerly debate held at the Goldwater Institute on Oct 11, 2010 or numerous other events. Look for me and introduce yourself the next time since I don’t know what your name is or what you look like.

  12. theprecinctproject says:

    I wholeheartedly endorse Rob Haney for Maricopa County Republican Committee Chairman for all of the reasons noted above.

    For Liberty,

    Cold Warrior

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 326 other followers