McCain’s candidate loses MCRC chairmanship election

Younger, fresher faces take AZ Republican Party Leadership by storm

Although precinct committeemen in John McCain’s stronghold state Legislative District 28 came armed with scores of proxies, they failed to win the Maricopa County Republican chairman election for McCain’s candidate, Lisa Gray, on the first ballot.

Prior to the second vote, the third place candidate Tom Morrissey took to the microphone to endorse Tyler Bowyer.

In the first vote, Bowyer finished 10-percentage points behind Gray —- indicative of the conservative vote split. Once Morrissey threw his support to Bowyer, the united conservative vote overcame McCain’s candidate.

Three other winning candidates were First Vice Chair, Jeni White; Second Vice Chair, Aaron Borders; Secretary, Matt Eberle; and Treasurer David Ludwig, who ran unopposed and was elected by acclimation.

Newcomer Aaron Borders was helped in his campaign by an endorsement from popular Maricopa County Sheriff Joe Arpaio, who was the only one in the gathering of 2000 elected and proxy carrying precinct committeeman and elected officials who received two standing ovations.

No bylaw changes were proposed.

10 Responses to McCain’s candidate loses MCRC chairmanship election

  1. John Liberty says:

    When those who support Federalism and Conservatism join hands, with an infusion of “young blood”, ANY statist Democratic candidates should be very much afraid!!
    We are on to them and their tactics of collectivist thought … and we WILL NOT bend … but we will fight those who call us “the enemies of this nation”.

    “You have enemies? Good. That means you’ve stood up for something, sometime in your life.” – Winston Churchill.

    • Shane Stevens says:

      As an LD 24 PC, I am most pleased by McCain’s failure. That statist should be run out of town with his cronies, Schweikert included. I have no use for men who pay lip service to the Constitution and their constituents.

  2. Realist says:

    I understand none of Arizona ‘ s Congressional delegation were in attendance at the Maricopa County Republican meeting today. Perhaps Speaker Boehner “suggested” (on behalf of their careers) it would be advisable to stay away from their Arizona party organizations leaders…until the current storm blows over.

    • John Liberty says:

      Well since we DO KNOW now that you were not in attendance yourself … I suggest you dump your sources. I was there and DID TALK to Congressman David Schweikert personally. Nice try to mislead the public rumors of heresay.

      • Realist says:

        I stand corrected. So…John Liberty, since your comment failed to address my inference to “knee buckling” by our Arizona delegation; did you perchance express your dismay to Mr. Schweikert over his vote to retain John Boehner as Speaker?

    • Brian Seymore says:

      I was present at the meeting and I saw both Matt Salmon and David Schweikert. Unfortunately, they did not address the assembly.

      • LD 23 PC says:

        It was very telling to me that the normally microphone happy congressmen Salmon and Schweikert were silent as lambs today. They probably thought they were being accessible enough by simply showing up. Both of them fell in line with their votes for OBoehner. I’m reevaluating my commitment to those who have no commitment to us. I can’t be “bought” for a cup of coffee or a donut.

  3. LEO IN TSN says:

    This is great for AZ. Now let’s keep the battle going. The State Convention is in two weeks. McGraham, using the McGOP resources and the $$ of his big-wallet supporters, has been trying to snow the low-information PC’s with his campaign to steal a re-election. Keep fighting and take back the GOP.

    God bless America.

    • Doc says:

      I keep on getting e-mails from this schmuck R.I.N.O.’s “campaign”…I sent ’em a note sayin’ they’re wastin’ their time…

  4. Hagar says:

    I’m sorry to have missed my Congressman Salmon at the meeting. I would have let him know my disgust at his vote for Boehner. I have supported Salmon for every election he was ever in, beginning with his first state senate bid. Never again!